Skip to content

The Wake \ Here Comes Everybody [FBN 35]

Newly remastered CD and vinyl editions of Here Comes Everybody, the highly-regarded second album by Scottish group The Wake, originally released by Factory Records in 1985.

On the special 30th anniversary edition 2xCD package, the core album is joined on Disc 1 by companion singles Talk About the Past and Of the Matter, as well as a 4 song radio session and a previously unreleased dub version of Torn Calendar.

Disc 2 combines their final Factory EP Something That No-One Else Could Bring (produced by John Leckie) with no less than 7 previously unreleased demos recorded between 1988 and 1990, including unheard songs as well as material later re-recorded for Sarah Records.

The 2xCD is housed in a 6 panel digipack with new liner notes by Carolyn Allen and Caesar.

The vinyl edition of Here Comes Everybody is limited to 500 copies and is pressed on black 180 gram heavyweight vinyl with a bonus 7" single in a picture sleeve featuring companion singles Talk About the Past and Of the Matter. The outer sleeve is printed on white reverse board; the inner bag featuring lyrics, photos and text by Caesar and Carolyn.

CD disc 1:

1. O Pamela
2. Send Them Away
3. Sail Through
4. Melancholy Man
5. World Of Her Own
6. Torn Calendar
7. All I Asked You To Do
8. Here Comes Everybody
9. Talk About the Past (7" version)
10. Of the Matter
11. Talk About the Past (radio session)
12. Rise and Shine (radio session)
13. Make You Understand (radio session)
14. The Calendar (radio session)
15. Torn Calendar (dub version)
16. Everybody Works So Hard (7" version)

CD disc 2:

1. Gruesome Castle
2. Pale Spectre
3. Furious Sea
4. Plastic Flowers
5. Hated Forsaken (demo)
6. English Rain (demo)
7. The Plastic Flowers (demo)
8. Bob's Empty Head (demo)
9. Are They Chaste? (demo)
10. Crush the Flowers (demo)
11. Carbrain (demo)
12. Pale Spectre (7" edit)
13. Talk About the Past (12" version)

Vinyl disc 1:

A1. O Pamela
A2. Send Them Away
A3. Sail Through
A4. Melancholy Man
B1. World Of Her Own
B2. Torn Calendar
B3. All I Asked You To Do
B4. Here Comes Everybody

Vinyl disc 2 (7" single):

C1. Talk About the Past (7" version)
D1. Of the Matter (7" version)

Available on 2xCD, vinyl and digital (MP3 or FLAC). To purchase please first select correct format and shipping option (UK, Europe or Rest of World) and then click on Add To Cart button beneath cover image. Digital copies are supplied to customers via link sent by email.

Here Comes Everybody [FBN 35]
Vinyl + 7" shipping options
2xCD shipping options
MP3 options
FLAC options


"Originally released in 1985, the sophomore album from Glasgow's The Wake saw them at the peak of their powers. Fronted by Gerard 'Caesar' McInulty, a founding member of Altered Images, Here Comes Everybody is a dreampop trailblazer. You may know opener O Pamela from the Nouvelle Vague version, but the sweeping synths and gentle vocal of All I Asked You To Do and the hypnotic seven-minute title track are the real treats here" (Electronic Sound, 04/2020)

"One of the most interesting things about the Wake circa Here Comes Everybody is that they provide almost the perfect link from the post-punk that was, to the coming indie pop wave that would result in C86. Lead-off track O Pamela is full of bright but gentle wonder, the surge of synth and jangle being balanced out nicely by near-dance beats. I liked the little dub inflections present on Send Them Away, the bass truly making its presence felt by busily bubbling around the vocal and electronics. Side 2 kicks off with the pacy harmonica-driven World Of Her Own, a song to an unnamed, unattainable beauty. This track, combined with the jazz-inflections of the following Torn Calendar, represent as near to the mainstream as The Wake would get. Even so, these both maintain the fresh feel of mystique that makes Here Comes Everybody so beguiling. All I Asked You To Do nears electro-pop, but the guitar glide takes it away from being a mere genre piece. That's the joy of this record in a nutshell - as soon as you think you've worked it out, it shape-shifts to something different. The title track finishes things off with a flourish: strings-sound fading to the buzz of guitar, before paring down to a vocal and percussion on the verses, before the rush of guitar of the hook/chorus. There's some finely-judged female backing vocals from Carolyn here, and on Torn Calendar too she shows up as a real asset to the band."

"The 7-inch single pairs Talk About The Past and Of the Matter and presents a different, more intense side to the band. The former is powered by an ample dose of post-punk funk guitar, with piano from Factory label mate Vini Reilly easing things along a little. Of the Matter coasts with bright bells opening up to a driving rhythm. Though these single tracks wouldn't naturally sit with the album itself, having them as a separate disc makes sense and is a nice bonus... Here Comes Everybody shows a band very much in their element, softly but very definitely standing their ground, daring to be different from the rest" (Louder Than War, 04/2020)

"Here Comes Everybody holds up as a touchstone for aching, atmospheric synth-pop, all slinky guitars, crispy percussion, textured keyboards and limber bass" (Pitchfork, 06/2012)

"Exquisite. Here Comes Everybody is The Wake as purveyors of wintry despair, indie at its most weary and wan, with Pale Spectre an all-time classic of the happy-to-be-sad genus. Even the la-la-la's are wet, wet with tears. Four stars" (Classic Pop, 06/2015)

"The Wake were a beguiling lot, a debt to New Order leavened by an extra helping of pale remorse, akin to Felt's precious cargo with Postcardian awkwardness. But there are kernels of heart-tugging pop: O Pamela was later covered by Nouvelle Vague, a glacial Torn Calendar is the album's secret weapon, and one wonders in Future Islands knowingly borrowed Sail Through's lilting synth figure" (Mojo, 06/2015)

"Various revivals of 1980s electronica make The Wake seem like pioneers, and as such Here Comes Everybody is their key release. While the songs are at root quite conventional, austere atmospherics remain the core of the sound. Decades later Nouvelle Vague would excavate the architecture of opener O Pamela, remodelling it as an Astrud Gilberto-style shuffle. The bonus tracks on this 2xCD set make the strongest case for their talents, though, with the breezy demo of Crush the Flowers a gem of boy/girl pop. 8 out of 10" (Uncut, 05/2015)

"My favourite Wake record for a variety of reasons, and most of those reasons are quite simply delicious songs. The opener O Pamela is a gorgeous hymn. Send Them Away is equally sublime, aching and reaching into the stratosphere" (Tangents, 02/2002)

"Driving compositions with bass-lines that form and direct the melodies. Behind a driving pop beat that teeter's on punk's edge, Caesar's vocals are deep and dark" (Other Music, 03/2002)

"O Pamela is a beautiful pop song that went completely unnoticed at the time. The naive melody and lyrics really got to me" (Nouvelle Vague, 2006)

"The album stands as a pillar of moody synth pop, still bearing passing resemblance to New Order while retaining the bounce of the Postcard label bands and the cavernous production of Closer-era Joy Division, covering it all in some of the heaviest synth wash this side of Klaus Schultze" (Dusted, 04/2012)

Here Comes Everybody [FBN 35]