Skip to content

Blurt \ Live In Berlin [FBN 5]

This blistering recording of Blurt's frenetic set at Berlin Free University on 13 December 1980 was originally scheduled for release as a 10" album on Factory Benelux (Facbn 5), but appeared instead as a regular album on Armageddon.

This vinyl edition on Factory Benelux is limited to just 500 copies, and features all 8 tracks spread across a 10" with bonus 7" single. Sleevenote by Wire editor Chris Bohn.


1. Cherry Blossom Polish
2. My Mother Was a Friend of an Enemy of the People
3. Puppeteers of the World Unite
4. Dyslexia Rules
5. Get
6. Tube Plane
7. Paranoid Blues
8. Ubu

Now available only on digital (MP3 or FLAC) - vinyl is sold out. To order click on Add To Cart button below cover image. Digital copies are delivered to customers by email link.

Live in Berlin [FBN 5]
MP3 options
FLAC options


"Fuelled by a barbed and desperate energy, Live In Berlin stands as a significant piece of UK post-punk... Milton's yelped vocals and rasping atonal bursts of self-taught sax often appear possessed" (The Wire, 09/2015)

"Paradise regained. Live in Berlin's eight tracks capture the band's raw essence, with Ted Milton howling as powerfully as Nick Cave with the Birthday Party, while doubling on sax like a possessed James Chance. Delivered against the backdrop of Stooges-like guitar and a driving rhythm section, Milton's lyrics are couched in poetic experience" (Record Collector, 03/2013)

"Milton's sax playing puts him in the vanguard of have-a-go skronkers, who proliferated in the rock milieu from the end of the 1970s, some of whom thought that simply making a racket with their horns gave them a passing resemblance to Ornette. But with Milton it feels like he is only trying to be himself" (The Wire, 04/2013)